Skip to content

Cathy: 100 Happies

I have been seeing or participating in a lot of these 16 random things about, 25 random things about, or 48 questions about me lists that are rattling around on Facebook. Well, now that it’s officially February and the start of the Finish-a-thon, I am foregoing participation in another of those lists. But it got me thinking again about Elizabeth Beck’s list of 100 things that make her happy. I thought it was about time I started my own. Granted, I’m sure I could make it a thousand easy, and that that list can change minute by minute, because that’s just the varietal kind of person I am, but here it goes:

  1. my husband acting goofy whenever I take his picture.
  2. the way my son s can make me laugh like no one else in the world.
  3. baby c’s deliberate pursuit of whatever she’s doing.
  4. writing poetry
  5. writing a good chunk in a longer project
  6. my son k’s smarts and good looks, both of which I lay claim as the genetic source
  7. taking photos of the kids when they don’t know the camera is on them
  8. chocolate, wait that’s too easy
  9. daaaaark chocolate
  10. creamy things with nuts
  11. wait that sounds gross, creamy sweet goodness with walnuts or pecans or crème brulee
  12. ice cream, and then,
  13. potato chips
  14. and then making dinner while full on ice cream and potato chips
  15. coffee in the morning as I pour it into the cup and the aroma wafts up while it makes that particular pouring sound, and then adding a bit of milk so its all swirly, and then
  16. the first sip of the morning.
  17. a hot shower.
  18. lavender soap.
  19. a tall glass of water on a hot day
  20. a big mug of herbal tea on a cold day
  21. or cocoa, my version, no packets in my house!  with four big marshmallows floating in it
  22. baking cookies
  23. baking cake
  24. cookie dough and cake batter
  25. pasta with red sauce.  I could eat this everyday for the rest of my life and never tire of it.
  26. apparently food
  27. fresh veggies from my garden
  28. growing fresh veggies
  29. gardening
  30. even flowers and trees
  31. yardwork
  32. the beach
  33. anything about the beach
  34. except maybe jellyfish stings
  35. jellyfish in the water is so pretty though
  36. walking
  37. yoga
  38. sunshine
  39. rain
  40. the moon
  41. sky gazing
  42. stars
  43. sunsets
  44. sunrises
  45. the smell of my kid’s heads when they are sleeping.
  46. baby c’s wild curls
  47. babies
  48. dogs
  49. cats
  50. horses
  51. the smell of hay in a barn
  52. the smell of the sea
  53. the smell of hay when the sun is shining on it.
  54. wet grass
  55. dancing in the rain
  56. snow
  57. snowball fights with the kids
  58. building something out of snow
  59. crisp air with snow
  60. snow, snow, snow, snow, snow.
  61. swimming
  62. making snow angels
  63. watching my kids make snow angels
  64. getting up out of making a snow angel and not leaving footprints in it
  65. lying on my back on the sand, on the grass, in the snow, on a boat, on a rock, and watching the sky.
  66. rock climbing
  67. listening to friend’s woes, and realizing hey, they’re just like me!
  68. listening to someone’s tale of woe and feeling blessed that it’s not me.
  69. helping a friend find a way past woe
  70. saying Whoa!
  71. when my dog looks at me with the look of love
  72. when my cat looks at me to say something besides feed me which amounts to, yeah, you’re alright, lady.
  73. when she purrs.
  74. bread
  75. making bread
  76. sledding
  77. driving
  78. adventures
  79. knowing that life is an adventure
  80. and all you have to do is liiiiive it
  81. reading
  82. when my husband pinches my butt just because we’re in the vicinity
  83. when I pinch his for the same reason
  84. a really good laugh
  85. jumping in my husband’s arms, even though it’s not so easy to do anymore, but we’re both in the kitchen, and it’s kitchen affection
  86. bubbles, on the stove or in the air
  87. a good movie cry
  88. a good book cry
  89. Christmas trees
  90. Halloween
  91. knowing that how much I love my family only ever gets bigger and better
  92. when I can think of a new way of approaching a bad situation that makes it better.
  93. caramel
  94. snowcones, preferably at the beach
  95. French fries
  96. morning quiet, so rare these days
  97. love
  98. friends
  99. family
  100. random tap dancing

That was fun and kind of cleared my head before I launch into the February Finish-a-thon. I recommend both highly: making a list of what makes you happy and joining us in the February Finish-a-thon! Good luck!

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jen at mamasmagicstudio #

    Cathy, I just want you to know that your list had be grinning from ear to ear as I sipped my morning tea. Thank you so much for sharing your delight in the world!

    February 3, 2009
  2. Liz #

    This is great, Cathy, because I think we focus on the negative too often. Really sitting down and being conscious of the multitude of things that makes us happy reminds us of all the little gifts we too often overlook or forget.

    February 3, 2009
  3. I did this recently too and I love to go back and re-read my list when I’m having a tough day.

    February 3, 2009
  4. cathy #

    oh good! i’m glad it had that effect! sometimes, instead of getting so deep, you just have to take a look at what’s right around you. i’m talking to me, of course, here.

    i think i’ll enjoy looking back at it oo.

    btw, finally, after nearly 3 years in southern va, i got to catch snowflakes on my tongue with my son s this am while we waited for the bus! i know i had a lot of snow references in there.

    and i chopped off all my hair today, so a new picture is forthcoming for my avatar. i never liked that one anyway.

    February 3, 2009
  5. fun list, cath. always fun to think about what makes you happy. and a good reminder on a bad day.

    February 3, 2009
  6. cathy #

    thanks, kelly. it is fun!

    February 3, 2009
  7. oh!
    you rock!
    love your groovy toovy happy list ….
    my list is closing in on a year old …. i made it last march i think …. i should make a fresh one …

    February 3, 2009
  8. Kristine #

    I love your list and I love this idea. I need to do one of my own (after I do my February Finish-a-Thon work, of course.)

    And…um…care to share your hot cocoa recipe?

    February 3, 2009
  9. cathy #

    lol! e and k!

    hot cocoa: version 1: take a table set, not measuring teaspoon and put a big scoop of cocoa (per cup) into a small pot, take preferably sucanat, which i can’t find down here,so i use brown sugar instead and add two medium to small of the same spoon to the pot. add milk for the cup number your making. heat over low heat, whisking the whole time.

    version 2: same recipe per cup, one cup at a time in microwave. start with dry ingredients in bottom of mug, add a smidge of milk, heat about 15 secs then stir vigorously to get out and lumps mashing them against the side of the mug with the spoon, then add more milk and heat to desired hotness – do not overheat, it will congeal – icky.

    # 2, always lumpy. can’t avoid it. that’s only for a rush job. there’s something absolutely wonderfully mini-bubbly about the whisked on stovetop version. almost foamy.

    add marshmallows. enjoy!

    February 4, 2009
  10. Kristine #

    Yum! Thanks for the recipe. 🙂

    February 4, 2009

Leave a comment